“To walk on stormy sea”

In response to the Daily post writing prompt: “Can’t Drive 55”

Yesterday I put the album ‘Face to Face’by Westlife on, went into the kitchen to make myself a cup of tea and when I came back into the lounge track one – “You raise me up” was already on the refrain whose third line says, “To walk on stormy sea” the whole refrain of that track has the following lines:
“You raise me up
so I can stand the mountain;
You raise me up
to walk on stormy sea,
I am strong when I am on your shoulder
You raise me up to more than I can be”
Westlife as a boy band may have been singing about ther dads, I have not researched the song but the lyrics persuade me to conclude that they were singing about their fathers. Be that as it may the song make me think of my mum.

I have said in other posts on this blog that my mum raised us six children as a single parent she worked 24/7 as a cook. She always left home at 5:00 a.m. so to prepare breakfast, she would be doing the evening meal before coming back home at 8:30 p.m.

This line “To walk on stormy sea” was what I knew my mother doing as she struggled to bring us up dealing with the problems of teenage children as well as providing for their needs was not easy for her but somehow she managed very well indeed.

When I first bought this album it was just me liking Westlife music but listening to this particular track made me aware of how my mother had taught me how to deal with whatever life threw at me and still get on with life. This track has now become one of my favourite songs which I play a lot in memory of my mum thanking her for the woman she made me become – strong.

Life has its ups and downs, it would seem to me that this particular song is about life’s struggles most people have had to deal with hardships and yet for some reason people manage to come out strong marvelling at how they have remained strong.

Leave a Reply

