Procastination

In response to the Daily post prompt: Obstacle course- Think about what you wanted to accomplish last week. Did you? What are the things that hold you back from doing everything you’d like to do.

I have over the years deviced a pattern of how to use my time. I have always had a today’s priorities list on my desk in order of importance. My not accomplishing the things I set myself to do is not due to lack of planning but simply due to procastination.

Last week the priorities list had among other things to do were, i) prepare the paper I was to present to an annual women’s convention, ii)write reports on the annual review’s I did for students in my tutorial group and write a report on the interviews I held for a Restoratve justice panel to just mention these three. Did I manage to do them all no!

I managed to do the paper for the women’s convention – why because the presentation was last Friday at 9:00 am that had to be done! I had to work until the early hours of Friday morning because I had left preparing for it until the last minute. I seem to flourish under pressure. The other two priorities are still pending even as I am writing this post.

What is it that holds me back? -PROCASTINATION I keep postponing working on the the things I know I should be doing. For some reason I allow myself to be distracted. The prompt for this post got me to question myself why I postpone things,I guess it is lack of self confidence. I am afraid that I may produce something which is not worth despite all my training and qualifications I still feel in adequate. The paper I presentated to the women’s convention was a hit so is everyrthing I have done yet I still feel very nervous accomplishing what I set myself to do because I am afraid it would not be good enough.
I guess that is how I function.

3 thoughts on “Procastination

  1. Bravo to you on the success of your presentation. We all experience that psychological nervous twitch when we are preparing something that is important to us and want to make a good impression. Call it stage jitters but don’t let that feeling get the better of you. Just do what you do and the rest will take care of itself. Try not to be overly critical of your work. That helps. Enjoy the day. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you Gerry first for stopping by and for your encouraging words. I do not know why I compare myself with others I feel are better writers than me. I know I should not as every one is different but I just do it I can not help myself. Thank you once again.

Leave a Reply

